Skip to main content

Want to Unshare a Google Doc After Use? This Is How You Can Do It

 Google Docs is extremely helpful, especially if you are working on a file and often need suggestions from your colleagues on how to move further or phrase the sentences you have written in a better way. Google docs let you share your work with others online so that they may make the necessary corrections in your document to improve its quality and make it look better. While users share the access of their document with others, they often forget to unshare it once the work has been done. This may make their work vulnerable and prone to attacks as they never know if the account with whom they have shared their documents is getting accessed by individuals other than the one who owns that respective account. So, it is better to make your document private as soon as your work is finished.

It’s very easy to unshare a document. You can do it with a few clicks. The directions mentioned below are applicable to Android and iOS and Windows.



How to Unshare a Doc File?

Below we have discussed two ways by which you can unshare your shared documents on Google Docs.

UNDO LINK SHARING

If the document has been shared through its link, you may follow these steps to unshare it:

  1. Go to the document and tap on “Share.” The option will appear on the right-hand side of your document. Alternatively, you can tap on File and click on Share. In case you are accessing your docs through a mobile app, click on the person icon appearing in the upper-right corner.
  2. Now click on “Change” in the “Get link” section. If you access the document through a mobile device, click on “Who has access” appearing below.
  3. Further select “Restricted” from “Anyone with this link” in the drop-down window that appears on your screen. If you are using the mobile service, click on “Change” to locate this menu.
  4. Finally, tap on Done once you have set the share settings.

UNDO EMAIL SHARING

Suppose you have added a specific list of individuals to access your document. In that case, you can unshare it from a particular individual or from everyone who has access to your document.

  1. First, you need to open your shared document and then click on “File.”
  2. Further, tap on “Share” to go to the share settings. Alternatively, you may click on the “Share” icon appearing at the right-hand corner on the top. In the case of a mobile app, tap on the person icon appearing on the top-right corner.
  3. Go to the menu appearing on the right side of any specific individual you have shared your file with and click on it.
  4. In the drop-down menu, click on “Remove,” and that particular person will not be able to access your document any further.
  5. You can follow this method for all the individuals you have shared your document with if you want to make your document entirely private. For the mobile app, users need to click on the “Who has access” section and click on the individual’s name to get the option to remove the document’s access from that specific person.
  6. Meanwhile, if you want to give the individuals access up to some extent, you can do so by selecting any other sharing option.
  7. Now, click on Save once you have accomplished the task.

How to Unshare Docs in Bulk?

What if you have a large number of documents that need to be made private. It will consume a considerable amount of your precious time to unshare every document individually. So, you can follow the below-mentioned steps to unshare all your documents at once:

  1. From your PC, visit Google Drive, and go to the location of shared files.
  2. Now you need to highlight the documents you want to make private.
  3. Then click on Share.
  4. Now, to unshare the document from any specific individual, click on the menu appearing on the right-hand side of the individual who needs to be removed, and then select Remove from the drop-down list.
  5. If you want to make all your documents private, click on Change and then select “Restricted” from the drop-down menu.
  6. Further, press Done. That’s it.

So, these were the methods using which you can unshare your Google Doc files from an individual or the list of individuals.

David root is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cybersecurity. He writes about the latest updates regarding Mcafee.com/activate  and how it can improve the work experience of users. Her articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs, and websites.

Read more - https://bestmcafee.com/want-to-unshare-a-google-doc-after-use-this-is-how-you-can-do-it/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Guide on Disabling Microsoft Outlook From Saving Sent Emails

  Do you want to de-clutter your Outlook email account by deleting sent emails? Well, normally everybody does that by moving the emails to the archive section or deleting them. But, how about an automated action that could disable your Microsoft Outlook account from saving the sent emails? Yes, you’re thinking it right! You no longer have to de-clutter your account manually from time to time. All you need to do is change certain settings and the action will be automated. You must have noticed that upon sending an email, your Outlook account stores a copy of the same. However, the platform enables you to turn off the settings to keep any sent emails from getting saved. Alternatively, your Outlook account lets you create a rule for saving the copies in some other folder. Interestingly, the settings can be changed for all emails, but if you want to do it for a few individuals, it is possible. 1.       Open the Outlookapplication. 2.   ...

How to Disable Access to Windows Registry for Standard Account?

  The Windows Registry is a kind of database that saves the low-level settings of the OS and apps. It has values and keys that are duplicates of the files and folders. Moreover, applying an incorrect setup into the Registry Editor can cause issues with the PC. Thus, the administrator should turn off the Registry Editor access for default users who don’t know much about registries. If you want to know how to turn off the Windows registry access to the default account, then read on and follow the steps given below. Disable Access of Registry via the Local Group Policy Editor Hit the Windows and R combination over the keyboard to launch the run prompt. Afterward, input “gpedit.msc” in it and select the OK button to invoke the Local Group Policy Editor. Now, pick the Yes button when prompted by the UAC. Go to the window of User Configuration, and then go to the following path: User Configuration\ Administrative Templates\ System\ You should select the “Prev...

HOW TO UNBLUR A PHOTO?

While going through your captured photographs, you might come across some pictures that look good but are a bit blurred. The pictures might have been captured long back in another city, then there is no option left for taking the picture now again. The reasons behind blurred pictures can be due to the shake of the camera or else bad focus. Does a blurred image consider as the end of that image? Will you be able to unblur any photo? You can unblur an image in a few of the cases. To know the method of doing unblur to an image is given in this blog. Un-blur a photo with Photoshop Firstly, go to the picture in Photoshop Elements. Then, choose the Filters menu. After that, enhance the image. Next, you need to choose Unsharp Mark. Lastly, change the Radius as well as Amount until the picture is turned sharp. In the above-mentioned method, you only require a bit more steps to get the correct clear type of picture. Remove blur with the help of Photoshop Firstly, view the ph...