Skip to main content

A Guide on Disabling Microsoft Outlook From Saving Sent Emails

 Do you want to de-clutter your Outlook email account by deleting sent emails? Well, normally everybody does that by moving the emails to the archive section or deleting them. But, how about an automated action that could disable your Microsoft Outlook account from saving the sent emails?

Yes, you’re thinking it right! You no longer have to de-clutter your account manually from time to time. All you need to do is change certain settings and the action will be automated.



You must have noticed that upon sending an email, your Outlook account stores a copy of the same. However, the platform enables you to turn off the settings to keep any sent emails from getting saved. Alternatively, your Outlook account lets you create a rule for saving the copies in some other folder.

Interestingly, the settings can be changed for all emails, but if you want to do it for a few individuals, it is possible.

1.      Open the Outlookapplication.

2.      Tap on the ‘Options’ tab in the upper-left corner of the window.

3.      Click on the ‘Save Sent Item To’ option from the menu below the tabs.

4.      A drop-down menu will open. Select any of the three options: Other Folder, Use Default Folder, and Do Not Save.

It is much easier to delete the mails for some specific individuals than setting an action by following the above-mentioned steps. However, if you want to do the same for all emails, read along to learn more!

Instructions for Stopping Your Microsoft Outlook Account from Saving Copies of Sent Emails

The steps to keep your Microsoft Outlook account from saving copies of sent emails are:

1.      Launch Microsoft Outlook on your device.

2.      Click on the ‘File’ tab in the upper-left corner of the window.

3.      Select the ‘Options’ option from the menu.

4.      Select the ‘Mail’ tab from the left bar and locate the ‘Save Messages’ section.

5.      Unmark the checkbox for the ‘Save copies of messages in the Sent Items folder’ option.

6.      Hit the ‘Ok’ button.

This is all you need to do to stop the sent email copies from getting saved.

On the other hand, if you want the email copies to get saved into another folder, you’ll have to set different settings for the same.



Saving Sent Emails to a Different Folder

The steps to save the sent emails to a different folder are:

1.      Open Microsoft Outlook and click on the ‘Home’ tab.

2.      Select the ‘Rules’ option from the menu under the Home tab.

3.      A drop-down menu will open. Click on the ‘Manage Rules & Alerts’ option.

4.      Click on the ‘New Rule’ button.

5.      A new Rules Wizard window will appear. Click on the ‘Apply rule on messages I send’ option under the ‘Start from a blank rule’ section.

6.      Hit the ‘Next’ button.

7.      The next prompt will ask you ‘Which conditions you want to check?’ Simply, hit the ‘Next’ button without checking any conditions.

8.      Click ‘Yes’ in the next dialog box for confirmation.

9.      Mark the checkbox for the ‘move a copy to the specified folder’ option.

10.  Tap on the underlined text to select a folder and browse the folder to which you want to save the sent emails.

11.  Once you’ve selected the folder, click ‘Ok.’

12.  Click on the ‘Next’ button.

13.  Again, click the ‘Next’ button to move ahead and assign a name to your rule.

14.  Hit the ‘Finish’ button.

Once you’ve followed the instructions correctly, all your sent emails will be saved in the folder you’ve chosen.

Notably, the rule mechanism works only when you use the desktop client. Therefore, there’s no other method to create a rule using the web application.

Now that you’re familiar with automating the action of deleting sent mails or moving them to another folder, change the settings now rather than manually doing the same.

I’m David. I’m a software engineer living in New jersey, USA. I am a fan of technology, programming, and Cybersecurity. I’m also interested in gaming.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How to Disable Access to Windows Registry for Standard Account?

  The Windows Registry is a kind of database that saves the low-level settings of the OS and apps. It has values and keys that are duplicates of the files and folders. Moreover, applying an incorrect setup into the Registry Editor can cause issues with the PC. Thus, the administrator should turn off the Registry Editor access for default users who don’t know much about registries. If you want to know how to turn off the Windows registry access to the default account, then read on and follow the steps given below. Disable Access of Registry via the Local Group Policy Editor Hit the Windows and R combination over the keyboard to launch the run prompt. Afterward, input “gpedit.msc” in it and select the OK button to invoke the Local Group Policy Editor. Now, pick the Yes button when prompted by the UAC. Go to the window of User Configuration, and then go to the following path: User Configuration\ Administrative Templates\ System\ You should select the “Prev...

Top Tricks to Increase Your Windows 10 PC Performance

  Windows 10 already has a fast working system, and it goes better with strong hardware. But at some point, the performance reduces because of viruses and bugs, malware several more reasons. So if you are using a powerful computer and still facing a major problem like slow performance, then should try out some easy and important steps that can help you to deal with this certain type of issue. Slow performance not just reduces the device’s speed but it also affects the user experience, so here’s the guide to increase your PC performance. Restart Your PC Restarting a PC looks like a simple process, but actually, it helps a lot to improve PC performance. After shutting down the PC or starting it, its system closes all running apps and their working. Every data those apps are collecting and storing in PC stops, and additionally, it clears some device memory also which helps in improving PC performance. Apart from this, every user must restart their PC after installing and uninstall...