Skip to main content

A Complete Guide To Fix the 'iPhone Is Disabled' Error

 The error 'iPhone is disabled' is seen when someone enters the wrong passcode more than the permissible attempts. This guide will help you fix this error. Stop trying more times if you see the 'iPhone is disabled' error because if you try more, the device will take more time to return to the correct state. Your iPhone will work according to the setup for wrong attempts. For example, if the password is used wrongly ten times, the device's data will be erased automatically.



Luckily, you can handle this situation smartly in some ways. Below are the ways to fix this error and to avoid it in the future. 

Use iTunes in Recovery Mode

You can take advantage of iTunes backup to restore the data. iTunes can also be used on Mac and PC as a backup tool. However, Apple recommends iCloud to back up the data, but iTunes is also used by many to backup data like playlists, TV shows, movies, etc. Here is how to use iTunes. 

  • Turn off your iPhone. 
  • Turn on the device in Recovery Mode and connect it (iPhone 8 or newer) with your PC by holding the side button to enable Recovery Mode. On iPhone 7, you have to press and hold the volume down button. On iPhone 6S or older, press and hold the Home button to activate Recovery Mode. 
  • After accessing the Recovery mode, go to iTunes. Now let iTunes find the iPhone and choose your device. 
  • You will see options like Restore or Update. You have to choose Restore. Now iTunes downloads the required program. You get a new setup. Here, you have to go further by typing a new passcode. The software will wipe the stored data on your smartphone. 
  • In case of an iCloud backup, the data must be restored in the setup process. Use the option Restore from iCloud. If you do not find this option, you can go through Settings to wipe the data. Without a copied file of the data on iCloud, this method doesn't work.  

Erase the data remotely

Remotely erasing an iPhone is an excellent way if the device is lost or stolen. Find My comes under iCloud and only works if it is active on your phone before losing the device. Find My works through GPS and the internet to track the device and allow you to access it remotely. 



 

  • Visit the webpage of iCloud to locate the phone and log in using your Apple ID. Now click on All Devices from the upper area of the screen and choose your iPhone. 
  • If you want to lock your phone and create a new passcode, go through Lost Mode/Mark as Lost. After it, no one can access your phone and the data. 
  • If you want to wipe the device, use the option Erase iPhone.  

Consider Touch ID or Face ID 

If you often forget your iPhone's passcode, you should go for Touch ID or Face ID. You can create a Touch ID or Face ID based on the iPhone model you have. You can create a Touch ID for iPhone 5S to iPhone 8. Face ID is available for devices like iPhone X, XS, or XR. By using these methods, your iPhone will unlock only by scanning your face or finger. Still, you have to remember your new passcode because the device will ask it while restarting or updating some specific settings.

David root is a creative person who has been writing blogs and articles about cybersecurity. He writes about the latest updates and how it can improve the work experience of users. Her articles have been published in many popular e-magazines, blogs, and websites.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

A Guide on Disabling Microsoft Outlook From Saving Sent Emails

  Do you want to de-clutter your Outlook email account by deleting sent emails? Well, normally everybody does that by moving the emails to the archive section or deleting them. But, how about an automated action that could disable your Microsoft Outlook account from saving the sent emails? Yes, you’re thinking it right! You no longer have to de-clutter your account manually from time to time. All you need to do is change certain settings and the action will be automated. You must have noticed that upon sending an email, your Outlook account stores a copy of the same. However, the platform enables you to turn off the settings to keep any sent emails from getting saved. Alternatively, your Outlook account lets you create a rule for saving the copies in some other folder. Interestingly, the settings can be changed for all emails, but if you want to do it for a few individuals, it is possible. 1.       Open the Outlookapplication. 2.   ...

How to Disable Access to Windows Registry for Standard Account?

  The Windows Registry is a kind of database that saves the low-level settings of the OS and apps. It has values and keys that are duplicates of the files and folders. Moreover, applying an incorrect setup into the Registry Editor can cause issues with the PC. Thus, the administrator should turn off the Registry Editor access for default users who don’t know much about registries. If you want to know how to turn off the Windows registry access to the default account, then read on and follow the steps given below. Disable Access of Registry via the Local Group Policy Editor Hit the Windows and R combination over the keyboard to launch the run prompt. Afterward, input “gpedit.msc” in it and select the OK button to invoke the Local Group Policy Editor. Now, pick the Yes button when prompted by the UAC. Go to the window of User Configuration, and then go to the following path: User Configuration\ Administrative Templates\ System\ You should select the “Prev...

Top Tricks to Increase Your Windows 10 PC Performance

  Windows 10 already has a fast working system, and it goes better with strong hardware. But at some point, the performance reduces because of viruses and bugs, malware several more reasons. So if you are using a powerful computer and still facing a major problem like slow performance, then should try out some easy and important steps that can help you to deal with this certain type of issue. Slow performance not just reduces the device’s speed but it also affects the user experience, so here’s the guide to increase your PC performance. Restart Your PC Restarting a PC looks like a simple process, but actually, it helps a lot to improve PC performance. After shutting down the PC or starting it, its system closes all running apps and their working. Every data those apps are collecting and storing in PC stops, and additionally, it clears some device memory also which helps in improving PC performance. Apart from this, every user must restart their PC after installing and uninstall...